In “The Bluest Eye” I feel that the conflict was not as resolved as I thought it should have been. The conflict in the story was that Pecola believed she was ugly based on society’s and her own opinion of beauty. Therefore to be pretty she believed that she needed blue eyes and blond hair. However, when Soaphead Church supposedly gives her the blue eyes she desires society still treats her badly this is because she did nothing truly changed about her. In the story she is described as going mad after she got pregnant, and I don’t believe that resolves the conflict, it just makes it worse. The climax of the story is when she gets raped by her father because everything goes downhill from there. She gets pregnant, loses the baby, and starts talking to herself because everything was set off by the climax. Pecola did not change for the better after the climax. Sure she was proud and happy with her new blue eyes but she lost a sense of reality after the climax. Claudia describes her as acting like a bird, flapping her arms in the hopes to fly. I believe that this is not a good change for Pecola because she has changed into a completely unstable person.  I don’t think she discovered anything about herself except that she thinks she now has some of the prettiest blue eyes and that is why everyone avoids her. I was a little disappointed by the ending of the story. I didn’t expect a fairytale ending or everything to be magically better but, I wish that Morrison gave us a little silver lining in the end.

2 thoughts on “

  1. I agree with your statement of how nothing truly seems to be resolved in the book. Nobody changed for the better, in fact is was all changes for the worse. Cholly died, Pecola loses the baby. and goes mad. Over all I agree with you that the ending was sort of disappointing after how powerful and fearless the novel was to begin with.

  2. I had a tough time figuring out what the climax was, but I figured it was between visiting Soaphead, and getting raped by Cholly. Both sides have great arguments because they both change her forever! I enjoyed the ending, not because of the content, but the way that Morrison presented it. Her morbid details are enough to confuse and intrigue me, especially in Pecola’s final segment. You pointed out some details that I missed too!

Leave a comment